Thumbnail for 506618

UCLA is bowl-eligible, but where will the Bruins play? It’s complicated

By in Press Enterprise on November 26, 2017

By Thuc Nhi Nguyen

The first part of UCLA’s postseason mission was clear. Win against Cal and the Bruins were in. They did that, thanks to J.J. Molson’s clutch field goal.

Now comes the tricky part: figuring out where the Bruins will play their bowl game.

Related Articles

  • Whicker: Kelly brings velocity to UCLA football

  • Who is Chip Kelly, the new UCLA football coach?

  • Reaction to UCLA hiring Chip Kelly as its football coach on his 54th birthday

  • Photos: UCLA defeats Cal 30-27

  • UCLA seniors celebrate bittersweet senior night without Jim Mora

The Pac-12 has nine bowl-eligible teams for seven contracted games and is unlikely to send a team to the College Football Playoff. The conference champion, who is guaranteed two losses, earns a spot in a New Year’s Six bowl. With the Rose Bowl serving as a College Football Playoff semifinal game, the Pac-12 champion is likely heading for the Fiesta Bowl.

The Alamo, Holiday and Foster Farms bowls pick next, in that order, and must select teams based on conference records. They are allowed to make exceptions for teams whose records are within one game of each other. So a bowl can skip a 7-2 team in favor of another with a 6-3 record but can’t opt for a 5-4 team.

The three lowest-tiered Pac-12 bowls — the Sun, Las Vegas and Cactus Bowls — choose based strictly on conference record with no exceptions.

Oregon trounced rival Oregon State on Saturday to pull even with UCLA for seventh place in the standings, which means one of the […]    

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *