Thumbnail for 497793

Dodgers’ Clayton Kershaw, Cody Bellinger, Dave Roberts among awards finalists

By in Press Enterprise on November 7, 2017

By J.P. Hoornstra

Three Dodgers – pitcher Clayton Kershaw, first baseman Cody Bellinger and Manager Dave Roberts – are among the top three vote-getters for baseball’s annual awards, announced Monday by the Baseball Writers’ Association of America.

Kershaw (National League Cy Young), Bellinger (NL Rookie of the Year) and Roberts (NL Manager of the Year) will learn next week whether or not they won.

Despite missing a full month to a back injury, Kershaw led the NL in wins (18-4) and earned-run average (2.31). The left-hander struck out 202 batters, eighth in the Senior Circuit.

Kershaw has won three Cy Young Awards (2011, 2013, 2014). Washington Nationals pitchers Max Scherzer and Stephen Strasburg are the other finalists. The winner will be revealed Nov. 15 on MLB Network.

The overwhelming favorite to be named Rookie of the Year, Bellinger would give the Dodgers back-to-back winners in the category for the first time in 20 years.

Bellinger, 22, established a National League rookie home run record (third all-time) with 39 home runs, while also ranking third all-time among Dodger rookies in RBIs (97).

After spending most of April at Triple-A, Bellinger forced his way into the Dodgers’ lineup and played 132 games in the regular season. The Dodgers went 91-41 in games in which Bellinger appeared.

Overall, Bellinger ranked second in the NL in homers and fifth in slugging percentage (.581). He was originally selected by the Dodgers in the fourth round of the 2013 draft out of high school.

The other finalists for the NL Rookie of the Year award are Pittsburgh Pirates first baseman/outfielder Josh Bell and St. Louis Cardinals shortstop Paul DeJong.

Seventeen Dodgers have claimed the award, beginning with Jackie Robinson in 1947. The award was named for Robinson in 1987. Dodgers shortstop Corey Seager won last year.

Roberts is a repeat finalist for the NL Manager of the Year award, […]    

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *