Thumbnail for 491580

Class Act: Israel Philharmonic, Russian orchestras have concert dates in the LA area

By in Press Enterprise on October 23, 2017

By Bob Thomas

In my last column, I noted that Southern California has a dozen or so top-flight orchestras. As it happens, the next fortnight also brings a number of the world’s best ensembles on various tours.

The Israel Philharmonic, led by music-director-for-life Zubin Mehta, comes to Walt Disney Concert Hall on Oct. 30 for a program that includes Amit Pozansky’s “Footnote,” a suite for orchestra from the 2011 Israeli drama film written and directed by Joseph Cedar; Schubert’s Symphony No. 9; and Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No. 3, with Yefim Bronfman as soloist.

Mehta has announced that he will retire from the position in 2019 after serving for 50 years.

Also on Oct. 30, the Mariinsky Theatre Orchestra — led by its music director, Valery Gergiev — will return to Renée and Henry Segerstrom Concert Hall in Costa Mesa with a program of music by Richard Strauss — the tone poems “Don Juan” and “Ein Heldenleben” — and Tchaikovsky’s Piano Concerto No. 3 (!) with Denis Matsuev as soloist.

Many people believe that Tchaikovsky wrote just one piano concerto (often referred to as THE Tchaikovsky Concerto) but, in fact, he wrote three.

The third, begun as a symphony, was eventually recast as a single-movement concerto and published after the composer’s death.
The Mariinsky ensemble then journeys to Disney Hall on Nov. 1 for a program of Shostakovich’s Symphony No. 9, Scriabin’s Symphony No. 3 and Prokofiev’s Piano Concerto No. 2, with Matsuev as soloist.

Tchaikovsky and Scriabin also appear on the program by the Moscow State Symphony Orchestra, which will be led by its music director and chief conductor, Pavel Kogan, on Nov. 2 at the Valley Performing Arts Center (aka The Soraya) at Cal State Northridge.

Selections include Rachmaninoff’s “The Rock,” Scriabin’s Symphony No. 2 and the aforementioned Tchaikovsky Piano Concerto No. 1, with Dmitry Masleev as soloist.

All of those […]    

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *